side
Museo Civico della Laguna Sud Stemma Chioggia

This floor amplifies the view, because you might not forged, the influence of the Venetian Republic over Chioggia.

Before entering the room “Cristoforo Sabbadino” a big photography will show the changes of the technical architecture of the boats, with annotations of the equipment and the naval legislation.

The room “Sabbadino” pays homage to the famous engineer, who served in the Venetian Republic, with two big photographs. The first photography is a map of Chioggia drawn by the architect himself. The second shows an hydraulic project of the lagoon.

In this room are exposed the measures of grain. They are dated 1332 and they are very important material documents for the study of the coat of city heraldry. The first measure, Quarta, bears the oldest coat of arms of Chioggia. The measures are documented by John Grevenbroch in the book "Antiquities of Chioggia in the Middle Ages and by Msgr. G. Gradenigo, Bishop of Chioggia, however, the analysis critical of the documents revealed that the picture, drown in table XV of the book, is not correct. Maybe he worked from memory or based on notes. John Grevenbroch drew the lion of Chioggia on Quartarolo and the lion of Venice appears on Quarta but he made a mistake because if you look you’ll notice that in the real measure the lion of Chioggia is on Quarta and the Lion of Venice is on Quartarolo. A panel hangs on the wall and it contains the information about the translation of the inscriptions and the design of Grevenbroch.

 

The room pays tribute to Cristoforo Sabbadino, an important engineer in the service of the Venetian Republic, with two of blowups: the first is a plant of Chioggia, the second shows one of his hydraulic projects of the Venetian lagoon.

The Colubrina

The Colubrina is a very valuable piece of heavy weapons belonging to the category of post-medieval craft. The cannon has the pin tilting on the side and it is complete in its entirety. A sumptuous decoration, represented by a seahorse as aiming device and triangles side by side which divide it into sections, makes it valuable.

It probably dates back to the sixteenth century. It belonged to a galley of rank, and it could be a war spoils or plunder stolen from some Turkish ship. The cannon was purchased by the town of Chioggia in 1997, on the recommendation of the Archaeological Superintendence of Veneto, at the auction house Semenzato in Venice.

Coins and statutes

The showcase along the wall of the room show pieces of ceramic work of the period from 1300 to 1700, which were found in place and made either in Chioggia, or Italy or even in Europe. This will document the trades of ceramic works in the territory of lagoon.

All pieces of ceramic work and terracottas were found in the territory of Chioggia during excavations carried out by the Archaeological Superintendence for the Archaeological Group Veneto and amateur Clodiense.

Inside the showcases, situated in the middle of the room, there are a collection of coins belonging to civic territories and different eras. The coins exposed belong to the Republic of Venice (anonymous and Dogi) from 1550 to 1849, and coins of various cities like Milan, Mantua, Parma between 1700 and 1800.

Three examples are particularly interesting for their antiquity: a coin from the Byzantine era (1028-1055), a small one coined during Frederick II of Swabia period (1218-1250) and a lead seal coined during the Doge Marinus Maurocenus period (1249-1253). The study of these coinage is due to Francesca Fuiano.

In the showcase, in the middle of the room, is exposed a scale with glass plate. It was used to weigh the salt.

On the walls you can see in order: a model of salt, two panels dedicated to salt-mine and the working of salt in this area, some old manuscripts granted from the historical archives of Chioggia and an hydraulic Sabbadino’s project and a plant of Chioggia dated 1550.